May 23, 2013

Amy Chua: Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:33 by Miracle

While waiting for my turn outside the dental clinic earlier this month, I started noticing that people were giving me odd or amused looks. I eventually discovered that I was seated near the entrance of the maternity clinic while reading “Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother”. I realized that I had to smile and show off a bit of my braces to hint that I was there for the dentist. Haha!

Amy Chua wrote this with tremendous wit and authenticity, and readers will be led to simultaneously scrutinize Asian and Western parenting while being entertained.  One may find the author’s accounts about her parenting style too severe at times, but I often agree with her.  “The next generation is the one I spend nights lying awake worrying about… Finally and most problematically, they will feel that they have individual rights guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution and therefore be much more likely to disobey their parents and ignore career advice.  In short, all factors point to this generation being headed straight for decline.”

Moreover, she is exceedingly involved with her daughters’ activities that even her knowledge in violin and piano playing technique can convince anyone that she is a serious musician!  After all, “This is a story about a mother, two daughters, and two dogs.  It’s also about Mozart and Mendelssohn, the piano and the violin, and how we made it to Carnegie Hall.” How could I not enjoy that? I highly recommend this to parents and would-be parents.

On a different note, I expected to read about my own mother while reading this, but I was wrong. I saw myself instead. I may not be a mother and will not be one for a very long time, but I am, nonetheless, very much a tiger.  Here is what the book has to say about tigers: “Tigers are capable of great love, but they become too intense about it.  They are also territorial and possessive.  Solitude is often the price Tigers pay for their position of authority.”  Aha! (Perhaps it is also just sheer coincidence that I have been writing to a future daughter called Sofia, and the first daughter’s name in the book is Sophia.)

.

Filed under Life Betwixt Book Covers
2 Comments »

  1. teachergabi said,

    I was raised by a tiger dad. 🙂 Haha! And I shall probably be a tiger mom as well. Apir tayo, Meewa!

    Like


Leave a Reply

